Serving is an Act of Worship

I serve others because He first served me.

Read it: 1 Peter 4:8-11

Think on it:170702BNR-1170x500-c

“‘…so that in all things God may be praised through Jesus Christ.

To him be the glory and the power for ever and ever. Amen.’” 1 Peter 4:11

 In an article by Tobin Perry, “Ten Ways to Worship without Music,” he states, “Worship is the process of surrendering your entire life into God’s hands. Everything you do can – and should – be an act of worship.” This month, we have been focusing on the specific topic of demonstrating our love for others by serving them. If the above statement is true, then our service to others can be one way to worship God. Let that sink in for a minute. Serving others is not just about doing something for them, it is an opportunity to help us and others focus on God. We are designed to worship Him with our whole being (Romans 12:1). It is not something that only happens when we pray or sing worship songs. Worship can happen in every moment of our day.

Our Scripture for the week (1 Peter 4:8-11) gives us some things we can do that will bring glory to God – and thus, turn our ‘acts’ into worship. We can worship God when:

  • We love others (verse 8) – The only reason we can love others is because of how we are loved by Christ. This verse tells us that ‘love covers a multitude of sins.’ It is not that those sins aren’t there, but the focus we are to have for that person is how to love them deeply and not focus on how they are not worthy of love (because of their sin). We were not worthy of God’s love for us – yet He loved us so deeply that He died for us. We are to love others deeply.
  • We demonstrate hospitality (verse 9) – In thinking about the topic of hospitality, I believe there is a deeper implication here than of just inviting others over to your house for dinner. I believe true hospitality means letting others into your space – even at the most inconvenient of times – and having a welcoming attitude. This can mean in your home. It can also mean when you are at the grocery store and someone you know comes up to talk with you. It can also mean taking a phone call from someone who needs your ear when you’d rather be reading your book. The broader concept of hospitality was eye-opening for me as I read this passage. Jesus demonstrated this as the crowds followed Him everywhere and demanded that He heal them, speak to them, and feed them. He was welcoming and did not turn them away. We are to demonstrate our love for others with that same generous hospitality.
  • We use our talents to serve (verse 10) – God did not give us talents and abilities to keep them to ourselves. He gave them to us to use for the benefit of others. In using our gifts to help others brings Him glory. Matthew 5:16 says, “…let you light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.” Use what God has freely given you – use it and worship Him in doing so.
  • We rely on God’s strength when serving (verse 11) – God doesn’t just give us the talent and the ability to use it, He supernaturally empowers that service when we rely on His strength. I know I can get something done under my own power, but I wonder what many more marvelous things could be done if I relied on God’s strength when I serve, rather than on my own. Asking Him to take the lead and to walk with me through acts of service toward others (in deed, in conversation, in prayer, etc.) is the start of letting go and allowing God to do His miraculous work.
  • We use our words to reflect Jesus (verse 11) – Worship happens when we point others to God. Do our conversations do that? Or do they point elsewhere? This verse tells us, “If anyone speaks, he should do it as one speaking the very words of God…” Would God say what I say? Is He reflected in my words?

Acts of service toward others can be acts of worship. The choice is mine to make. I can serve, but not impact others for Christ – OR – I can serve and be an instrument that loudly proclaims God. My choice.

Pray about it:

‘Father, I want to be empowered by You in all I do. I want You to be heard in the words I use when I speak to others. I want to be hospitable to those I encounter every day. I want to love others as You do. “…so that in all things (You) may be praised through Jesus Christ. To (You) be the glory and the power for ever and ever. Amen.’’

Act on it:

  • Do any areas mentioned in the devotional strike a chord with you? Is there something specific you can work on as you serve others? Ask yourself these questions prayerfully this week:
    • Do I love others deeply, as Christ loved? Or is my love for others superficial and dependent upon their worthiness?
    • Am I hospitable toward all? No matter when and where? Do I have a welcoming attitude toward others even when it is inconvenient?
    • Am I using my gifts and talents to serve others or just to advance my own agenda? Am I doing things under my own strength and not inviting God along and relying on His power?
    • Are my words ones that Jesus would use? Can I see Jesus speaking to others the way I speak to them?

Parenting Tips:

  • In my life I was blessed to be raised by parents who were true servants. I grew up watching what they did, what they said, and how the relied on God for His strength to serve others. Their service was not done at their convenience. Many times, serving others was a true sacrifice. Their motive – to bring honor to God and to advance His kingdom. Are you a good example to your children in this area? Do your acts of service and the words you speak point others to God or away from God? Allow your children to serve others right alongside you. They can be part of your hospitality, they can speak life-affirming words to others, they can use their gifts to serve others.

 

Joyce Blum, Cascade Christian Schools

Comment